Clinton and Trump: Two Different Histories of Service

In a field of many, we are down to two: Hillary Rodham Clinton, and Donald J. Trump. One of these will become the next President of the United States. As for me, I will choose Hillary Clinton. I value that a presidential candidate demonstrates a history of service and education. I would like to compare the service and educational résumés of the two candidates.
At a young age Hillary Rodham (now Clinton) demonstrated a desire to serve and acquire knowledge needed for public service. As a child she was a member of the Maine East High School National Honor Society. She attended school at Wellesley College where she majored in Political Science. She served as President of Young Republicans (She grew up in a conservative household, and changed political affiliations in college). She was elected President of the Wellesley College Government Association, and organized a strike to recruit more black students and faculty at Wellesley College. At the tender age of 22 Life magazine published an article featuring her for a speech she gave at her commencement in LIFE With Hillary: Portraits of a Wellesley Grad, 1969. She enrolled in Yale Law School and researched health and sanitation issues among migrant workers. She taught at the School of Law at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. In Arkansas she worked to increase the bar for public school teachers and created a program to enhance Pre-K literacy, and for her efforts she was named Arkansas Woman of the Year in 1983. The following year she was named Arkansas Mother of the Year in 1984.
When she became First Lady of the United States she was the first to hold a post-bachelor’s degree, and used her expertise to champion healthcare. Her efforts were the predecessor to the Affordable Care Act. After serving for eight years as one of the most successful First Ladies in United States history, she served as New York Senator, and later as Secretary of State. Since her time as Secretary of State she has created the Bill, Hillary & Chelsea Foundation in 2013 which aims to encourage early childhood development and No Ceilings: The Full Participation Project (in collaboration with the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation) which studies the educational development of women and girls around the world.

 

On the other hand, Donald Trump has no history of public service. He serves as the chairman of the Trump Organization, whose purpose is to make him as much money as humanly possible. Trump holds no post-graduate degrees, only a Bachelor’s degree from the Wharton School of University of Pennsylvania in Economics. During his time at Wharton he also dodged draft during the Vietnam War. He made a career off bullying, lying, cheating, swindling, and I’ll assume a few honest good deals. He has no experience in government and has not proven at all that he even understands the government or the Constitution of the United States. In short: in his entire career he has not served anyone but himself. How do you expect him to serve the people of the United States?

4 thoughts on “Clinton and Trump: Two Different Histories of Service

  1. I have read a long list of Trump's private charitable acts, and I would bet that he would argue that charity should be in the hands of private citizens, rather than institutions and government organizations. What are your thoughts on private vs. public acts of community service?

    Like

  2. This is a very good point, and one I certainly thought of before publishing this piece. The Clintons have also contributed to charities that I do not mention. I do not mention Trump's charities, because I do not believe is invested in them (as far as time is concerned) To him they are tax write offs. Let me respond with a story: In Utah I met a man who contributes to AIGC (American Indian Graduate Center), which gives scholarships to Native students, especially in Utah and the West. I know of the group because of my connection to Farina. He told me he has given to the charity for decades, because he believes in these scholarships “break cycles of poverty.” We had an awkward quiet moment, he then turned to me and asked, “Now can you remind me, what is the Indian tribe in Utah?” Fortunately I had studied this answer as Farina and I had discussed this earlier. I said, “Ute, Paiute, Shoshone, Goshute, Navajo…” and I went on further to explain that many indigenous people lived there. I asked myself how someone could “serve” a people for “decades” and have no actual idea who the heck he was serving. He couldn't look at the name of his own state and figure out that it was named after the people he served. I am grateful for such programs, but I feel regarding the theme of my topic that time spent means more to me in a Presidential candidate than checks issued.

    Like

  3. Responding more closely to your question, there is room for charity on both the private and public sector. I love the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, and I love FEMA. If charity helps people, than it is a good thing. If Trump gives, (even for simply tax breaks) than that is great. But that still doesn't qualify him to be President.

    Like

Leave a Reply

